Prometheus

Prometheus is a quarterly peer-reviewed international, multidisciplinary journal published by Pluto Journals that publishes papers on innovation, by which we mean the production, introduction and diffusion of change

ISSN: 0810-9028 / e-ISSN: 1470-1030

About the Journal

Prometheus publishes critical papers, those that express – and justify – opinions on innovation issues. We are particularly attracted to papers that challenge prevailing views. We encourage debate. Prometheus aims to publish papers that are not so technical or specialised that they cannot be appreciated by a wide readership that includes academics, practitioners, and policymakers. 

Aims & Scope

From a core interest in technological change and the information required to bring it about, the journal’s scope has expanded to cover: 

  • the history of innovation
  • information for innovation
  • invention and creativity 
  • research and development
  • diffusion of innovation
  • science and technology policy
  • organisational strategy for innovation
  • intellectual property rights

Journal Information

The Journal is published quarterly in March, June, September and December. The Journal is indexed in Scopus.

GENERAL EDITOR

Stuart Macdonald (s.macdonald@sheffield.ac.uk)

Leicester University, UK

EDITORS

Peter Drahos

Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University, Australia (peter.drahos@anu.edu.au)

Areas of expertise: patents, intellectual property, trade, regulatory and governance theory.

Hans-Jürgen Engelbrecht

Department of Economics and Finance, Massey University, New Zealand (H.Engelbrecht@massey.ac.nz)

Areas of expertise: information/knowledge-based economy/policy/society, economic growth and knowledge spillovers, the role of human

capital, happiness economics, behavioural economics related to the information/knowledge-based economy

Richard Hawkins

Science, Technology and Society Program, University of Calgary, Canada (rhawkins@ucalgary.ca)

Areas of expertise: research policy, innovation theory and policy, university-industry collaboration, intellectual property, standards, technical regulation, electronic media industries

Steven Henderson

Southampton Solent University, UK (profsteven.henderson@gmail.com)

Areas of expertise: strategic management, organisational learning, critical thinking

Richard Joseph

130 Orange Valley Road, Kalamunda, WA, Australia (rajoseph4342@hotmail.com)

Areas of expertise: science and technology policy, Australian government policy, academic freedom and managerialism

Karmo Kroos

Department of Economics, Estonian Business School, Estonia (karmo.kroos@ebs.ee)

Areas of expertise: theories of social change, elites as agents of social change, the role of the university, higher education policy, sociology of knowledge, Central and Eastern Europe

Robin Mansell

Department of Media and Communications, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK (r.e.mansell@lse.ac.uk)

Areas of expertise: internet governance, telecommunications policy and regulation, social impact of new media, political economy of media and communication, development and ICTs

Martin Meyer

Kent Business School, University of Kent, Canterbury, UK (martin.meyer@abdn.ac.uk)

Areas of expertise: science and technology indicators, university-industry technology transfer, third mission, triple helix, intellectual property management, science-based innovation, new technologies (especially nanotechnology), technological systems, sectoral systems of innovation, programme evaluation

Joanne Roberts

Winchester School of Art, University of Southampton, Winchester, UK (J.Roberts@soton.ac.uk)

Areas of expertise: knowledge economy, knowledge creation and transfer communities of practice, business services, internationalisation of services, information and communication technologies innovation systems

Kevin Scally

Cork University School of Business (CUBS), University College Cork, Ireland (k.scally@ucc.ie)

Areas of expertise: invention and design; USPTO patents and innovation; IP and nonprofits; software usability; creativity, iconoclasm and play

Peter Senker

University of Sussex, Brighton, UK (peter.senker@ntlworld.com)

Areas of expertise: technology, inequality, wealth and poverty; technology and the environment, capitalism and neoliberalism

Uta Wehn

IHE Delft Institute for Water Education in partnership with UNESCO, Delft, The Netherlands (u.wehn@unesco-ihe.org)

Areas of expertise: knowledge, ICTs and innovation for development; inter-organisational data and knowledge sharing; knowledge

management; capacity development; innovation systems; water innovation studies; citizen science

BOOK REVIEW EDITOR

Steven Umbrello

Managing director, Institute for Ethics and Emerging technologies, Boston MA (stevenumbrello@yahoo.com)

WEBSITE DESIGN

Simon Dunn (dsimon9874@gmail.com)

Please see the submission guidelines here.

Journal’s General Editor, Stuart Macdonald, s.macdonald@sheffield.ac.uk

Publisher Pluto Journals, kush@plutojournals.com  

For institutional and online subscriptions, these are available through JSTOR here.