International Journal of Disability and Social Justice

The International Journal of Disability and Social Justice is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal published by Pluto Journals that contributes to the field of Disability Studies. Print ISSN: 2732-4036 / e-ISSN: 2732-4044 , The journal is hosted on Science Open and can be found here to read online. 

About the Journal

The International Journal of Disability and Social Justice (IJDSJ) is a new international and interdisciplinary journal in the field of Disability Studies, providing an outlet for scholars and academic-activists. Launching in 2021, the Journal will be of interest and use to the broader community of disabled people and their allies, who are working to challenge injustices and build inclusive societies. 

Aims & Scope

IJDSJ understands Disability Studies to include Critical Disability Studies, Ability Studies and Studies in Ableism. The Journal recognises the connections between Disability Studies and allied fields including Deaf Studies, Mad Studies and Critical Autism Studies. Authors from these fields are warmly invited to submit to and engage with the Journal.

Given the Journal’s focus on social justice, many contributions will draw upon ideas developed in the broad fields of:

  • Socio-Legal Studies and Human Rights
  • Critical Sociologies
  • Political Science
  • Social and Public Policy
  • Philosophy/Ethics/Theology
  • Radical/Critical Social Work, Health and Psy- Sciences
  • Inclusive Education
  • Critical Management/Business Studies
  • Inclusive Design

Journal Information

There will be four issues in 2021/22 and thereafter it will be published quarterly. 

Co-Chairs of Editorial Executive

Angharad Beckett (Centre for Disability Studies, University of Leeds, UK)

Anna Lawson (Centre for Disability Studies, University of Leeds, UK)


Executive Editors

David Abbott (Norah Fry Centre for Disability Studies, University of Bristol, UK)

Theresia Degener (Evangelische Hochschule Rheinland-Westfalen-Lippe, Germany)

Amita Dhanda (Nalsar University of Law, India)

Hannah Morgan (Centre for Disability Research, Lancaster University, UK)

Simon Ng (HKUSpace, Hong Kong University, HK)

Gerard Quinn (University of Leeds, UK and Lund University, Sweden)

Chrissie Rogers (Tizard Centre, University of Kent, UK)

Michael Stein (Harvard Law School Project on Disability, Harvard University, USA)

Anna Arstein-Kerslake (N.U.I, Galway)

Andrew Azzopardi (University of Malta)

Julia Bahner (Lund University)

Dikmen Bezmez (Koç University)

Peter Blanck (Syracuse University)

Nicola Burns (University of Glasgow)

Bronagh Byrne (Queens University Belfast)

Tom Campbell (University of Leeds)

Paula Campos Pinto (University of Lisbon)

Heng-hao Chang (National Taipei University)

Tsitsi Chataika (University of Zimbabwe)

Luke Clements (University of Leeds)

Beverley Clough (University of Leeds)

Pedro Encarnação (Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics)

Deborah Fenney (Kings Fund)

Eilionoir Flynn (NUI Galway)

Debbie Foster (Cardiff University)

Frederic Fovet (Royal Roads University)

Anita Ghai (Ambedkar University) 

Barbara Gibson (University of Toronto)

Dan Goodley (University of Sheffield)

Miro Griffiths (University of Leeds)

Rosie Harding (University of Birmingham)

Paul Harpur (University of Queensland)

Chris Hatton (Lancaster University)

Katharina Heyer (University of Hawaii)

Roni Holler (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Esther Ignagni (Ryerson University)

Jo Ingold (University of Leeds)

Sanjay Jain (ILS Law College, Pune)

Kelly Johnson (University of New South Wales)

Emily Kakoullis (Cardiff University)

Arlene Kanter (Syracuse University)

Hisayo Katsui (Helsinki University)

Rosemary Kayess (University of New South Wales)

Amanda Keeling (University of Leeds)

Patrick Kermit (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

Rebecca Lawthom (Manchester Metropolitan University)

Oliver Lewis (University of Leeds & Doughty Street Chambers)

Kirsty Liddiard (University of Sheffield)

Kelly Loper (Hong Kong University)

Ravi Malhotra (University of Ottawa)

Janice McLaughlin (Newcastle University)

Sagit Mor (University of Haifa)

Nagase Osamu (Ritsumeikan University) 

Mark Priestley (University of Leeds)

Shivaun Quinlivan (NUI Galway)

Anne Revillard (Sciences Po)

Katherine Runswick-Cole (University of Sheffield)

Jonas Ruškus (Vytautas Magnus University)

Sara Ryan (University of Oxford)

Lucy Series (Cardiff University)

Roger Slee (University of Leeds)

Karen Soldatic (Western Sydney University)

Damjan Tatić (Independent Scholar)

Rannveig Traustadóttir (University of Iceland)

Filippo Trevisan (American University)

Raquel Velho (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Lisa Waddington (Maastricht University) 

Michael Waterstone (Loyola Marymount University)

Nick Watson (University of Glasgow)

Felix Welti (University of Kassel)

Gregor Wolbring (University of Calgary)

Wanhong Zhang (Wuhan University)

The Editorial Executive,

Publisher Pluto Journals,

For institutional and online subscriptions, these are available through JSTOR here.

Print subscriptions of the journal are available through Marston Book Services, here.

Pluto Journals